Men Without Women – Haruki Murakami

on

I was privileged enough to receive ‘Men Without Women’ as an un-autocorrected proof from the publishers Harvill Secker and I couldn’t have been happier to be able to read this before the official publication date.

This was the first Murakami that I have ever read but I’ve heard many good things about this author so I was very excited to receive the book. It is a collection of seven short stories about several male characters who live without women but not in the sense that you expect. It’s not about seven lonely men who live boring lives because their wives have died or they never got married. It is more complex and intricately written than that.
Each of the stories in the collection is as diverse as the other and this is what makes Murakami such an established and accomplished author therefore despite not being particularly enamoured by the first short story I wasn’t going to give up that easily. The stories did improve and grow on me because they were more to my taste and covered topics that intrigued me. I couldn’t pick a favourite from the collection because they were so distinct and captivating.

I definitely recommend reading this collection because until then I have never completed a full collection of stories but because Harvill Secker chose me I was going to make an effort and I’m glad I did. It has inspired me not only to read more of Murakami’s work but other short story collections by various authors.

Leave a Reply

