Happy Mum, Happy Baby – Giovanna Fletcher

This is not a book or biography that I would usually go for so I honestly have nothing to compare it to. I’ve never read a pregnancy and childcare book nor have I read a woman’s biography on their adventures in motherhood. I’m open to everything.

I’ve had a love for the Fletcher family ever since I discovered the band McFly way back in 2004. Tom Fletcher was my favourite member and still is today despite meeting his other band mate Double Poynter in our local Church at Christmas – but that’s another story. Everyone who has a love for McFly or Tom knows about Giovanna and what a wonderful person she is and of course the wedding and the wedding speech (if you haven’t watched it, look it up on YouTube right now). So, when she announced that she would be publishing a book about her family and how she appears to take everything in her stride, I was more excited than I ever felt when her fiction novels were released.

I didn’t pre-order Happy Mum, Happy Baby because at the time of publication it wasn’t a huge priority, I had to work on essay after essay for uni so it was just going to have to wait. However, I did buy it about 2/3 weeks after it was released so at the time I bought it it was still number 1 in the nonfiction chart. Which is amazing! 

I read the book a couple of weeks later and finished it very very quickly. Giovanna states the whole way through that this is not a book on how to the perfect or ideal mother, its a book about how Giovanna has felt as a mother and an offer of support and love to those mothers who often dont feel like they’re doing a good job because of various external factors; similar to the many experiences that Gi Fletcher has gone through. This book has been inspiring, such an eye opener to the pain and happiness that a mother goes through and after reading it, I’ve definitely looked at my mum in another light. She’s always been there when I need her but maybe now and when I was younger I wasn’t always there for her or being the best me that I could be. Its also an eye opener in how difficult having children are, I dont want children just yet but someday in the future and this book helped me to realise even more now that I’m really not ready to have a family yet. It will happen when the time is right.

Honestly this book is so friendly and easy to read and it just lifts you up when you see the various photos of the Fletcher family and know how much Giovanna loves and is proud of them. This book is heart felt and real and I’ve learnt so much from it. I’m glad I’ve read it at this time of my life.

One comment

  1. I just finished this book about a week ago and loved it! Browsing reviews before I write mine. It was one of the easiest and most conversational style books I’ve read. So good. Wish her stuff was sold in our book stores 😦 (USA fan)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

